Newbery Medal Winners

  • To search for these books log into your Destiny Library account at: Destiny Login

    2019 New Kid  Jerry Craft
    2019 Merci Suárez Changes Gears     Meg Medina
    2018 Hello Universe  Erin Entrada Kelly
    2017 The Girl Who Drank the Moon  Kelly Barnhill
    2016 Last Stop on Market Street  Matt de la Pena
    2015 Crossover  Kwame Alexander
    2014 Flora and Ulysses Kate DiCamillo
    2013 The One and Only Ivan Katherine Applegate
    2012 Dead End in Norvelt Jack Gantos
    2011 Moon Over Manifest Clare Vanderpool
    2010 When You Reach Me Rebecca Stead
    2009 The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman
    2008 Good Masters! Laura Amy Schiltz
    2007 The Higher Power of Lucky Susan Patron
    2006 Criss Cross Lynne Rae Perkins
    2005 Kira-Kira Cynthia Kadohata
    2004 The Tale of Despereaux Kate DiCamillo
    2003 Crispin: The Cross of Lead Avi
    2002 A Single Shard Linda Sue Park
    2001 A Year Down Yonder Richard Peck
    2000 Bud, Not Buddy Christopher Paul Curtis
    1999 Holes Louis Sachar
    1998 Out of the Dust Karen Hesse
    1997 The View From Saturday E.L. Konigsburg
    1996 The Midwife's Apprentice Karen Cushman
    1995 Walk Two Moons Sharon Creech
    1994 The Giver Lois Lowery
    1993 Missing May Cynthia Rylant
    1992 Shiloh Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
    1991 Maniac Magee Jerry Spinelli
    1990 Number the Stars Lois Lowery
    1989 Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices Paul Fleischman
    1988 Lincoln: A Photobiography Russell Freedman
    1987 The Whipping Boy Sid Fleischman
    1986 Sarah, Plain and Tall Patricia MacLachlan
    1985 The Hero and the Crown Robin McKinley
    1984 Dear Mr. Henshaw Beverly Cleary
    1983 Dicey's Song Cynthia Voigt
    1982 A Visit to William Blake's Inn Nancy Willard
    1981 Jacob Have I Loved Katherine Paterson
    1980 A Gathering of Days Joan W. Blos
    1979 The Westing Game Ellen Raskin
    1978 Bridge to Terabithia Katherine Paterson
    1977 Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry Mildred D. Taylor
    1976 The Grey King Susan Cooper
    1975 M.C. Higgins, the Great Virginia Hamilton
    1974 The Slave Dancer Paula Fox
    1973 Julie of the Wolves Jean Craighead George
    1972 Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH Robert C. O'Brien
    1971 Summer of the Swans Betsy Byars
    1970 Sounder William H. Armstrong
    1969 The High King Lloyd Alexander
    1968 From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler E.L. Konigsburg
    1967 Up a Road Slowly Irene Hunt
    1966 I, Juan de Pareja Elizabeth Borton de Treviño
    1965 Shadow of a Bull Maia Wojciechowska
    1964 It's Like This , Cat Emily Neville
    1963 A Wrinkle in Time Madeleine L'Engle
    1962 The Bronze Bow Ellizabeth George Speare
    1961 Island of the Blue Dolphins Scott O'Dell
    1960 Onion John Joseph Krumgold
    1959 The Witch of Blackbird Pond Elizabeth George Speare
    1958 Rifles for Watie Harold Keith
    1957 Miracles on Maple Hill Virginia Sorensen
    1956 Carry on, Mr. Bowditch Jean Lee Latham
    1955 The Wheel on the School Meindert De Jong
    1954 And now Miguel Joseph Krumgold
    1953 Secret of the Andes Ann Nolan Clark
    1952 Ginger Pye Eleanor Estes
    1951 Amos Fortune, Free Man Elizabeth Yates
    1950 The Door in the Wall Marguerite de Angeli
    1949 King of the Wind Marguerite Henry
    1948 The Twenty-One balloons Williams Pene du Bois
    1947 Miss Hickory Carolyn Sherwin Bailey
    1946 Strawberry Girl Lois Lenski
    1945 Rabbit Hill Robert Larson
    1944 Johnny Tremain Esther Forbes
    1943 Adam of the Road Elizabeth Gray
    1942 The Matchlock Gun Walter Edmonds
    1941 Call it Courage Armstrong Sperry
    1940 Daniel Boone James Daugherty
    1939 Thimble Summer Elizabeth Enright
    1938 The White Stag Kate Seredy
    1937 Roller Skates Ruth Sawyer
    1936 Caddie Woodlawn Carol Ryrie Brink
    1935 Dobry Monica Shannon
    1934 Invincible Louisa Cornelia Meigs
    1933 Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze Elizabeth Lewis
    1932 Waterless Mountain Laura Armer
    1931 The Cat Who went to Heaven Elizabeth Coatsworth
    1930 Hitty, Her First Hundred Years Rachel Field
    1929 The Trumpeter of Krakow Eric P. Kelly
    1928 Gay Neck, the Story of a Pigeon Dhan Mukerji
    1927 Smoky the Cowhorse Will James
    1926 Shen of the Sea Arthur Chrisman
    1925 Tales from Silver Lands

    Charles Finger


    1924 The Dark Frigate Charles Hawes
    1923 The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle Hugh Lofting
    1922 The Story of Mankind Henrik van Loon