Common Core State Standards

  • frog with flower pot Common Core State Standards (CCSS)

    What are they?
    The Common Core State Standards is a set of curriculum standards, covering Language Arts and Math, based on content students will need before entering college. Across the United States forty-five states have agreed to implement a set of CCSS in an effort to ensure equal learning from state to state. Washington state is one of the forty-five states who signed up to implement the Common Core State Standards.

    Purpose of CCSS:
    The purpose is to provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn. They're also designed to reflect knowledge and skills students will need for success in the real world. CCSS demands a more complex level of reading, thinking, speaking, and writing for all students.

    Want to find out more about the Common Core State Standards?
    Click on the links below to find out more about the CCSS and first grade.

     frog with blue flower Click on this link: to see what the National PTA has to say about CCSS for first grade.

    frog with yellow flower Click on this link: to find answers to questions you might have about the CCSS.

     frog with pink flower This is the place to see what the WA state OSPI has to say about the CCSS:

     frog with yellow flower Want to see the CCSS for yourself? Click on the two links below: