• Developmental Classroom Guidance Curriculum

    Guidance Curriculum used in each grade level:

    Kindergarten - Second Step & Kelso's Choices& Child Protection Unit    

    1st grade - Second Step & Child Protection Unit 

    2nd grade - Second Step & Child Protection Unit  

    3rd grade - Second Step & Bullying Prevention 

    4th grade - Second Step & Bullying Prevention   

    5th grade - Second Step & Bullying Prevention   


    Description of each Curriculum

    Second Step is a prevention program that teaches critical social and emotional skills to all children and reduces aggressive and disruptive behaviors. It creates a general culture for skill building that fosters cognitive growth in addition to social and emotional development. Children gain language and communication skills while learning to identify feelings, solve problems, and get along with others.

    Bullying Prevention Unit is a bullying prevention program shown to decrease bullying and to establish a safe, caring, and respectful school climate. Students learn and practice friendship making skills, how to recognize bullying, bullying-refusal skills, how to reach out to someone being bullied, and how to report bullying.

    Child Protection Unit is a personal safety curriculum that teaches children basic skills to keep them safe from dangerous situations.

    Kelso's Choices is designed to help students distinguish between big and little problems, and learn to problem solve on their own.