• Developmental Classroom Guidance Curriculum

    Guidance Curriculum used in each grade level:

    Kindergarten - Second Step

    1st grade - Second Step & Talking About Touching

    2nd grade - Second Step & Talking About Touching

    3rd grade - Steps to Respect & "Different & the Same"

    4th grade - Steps to Respect & Dependable Strengths

    5th grade - Steps to Respect & Why Try?

    Description of each Curriculum

    Second Step is a prevention program that teaches critical social and emotional skills to all children and reduces aggressive and disruptive behaviors. It creates a general culture for skill building that fosters cognitive growth in addition to social and emotional development. Children gain language and communication skills while learning to identify feelings, solve problems, and get along with others.

    Steps to Respect is a bullying prevention program shown to decrease bullying and to establish a safe, caring, and respectful school climate. Students learn and practice friendship making skills, how to recognize bullying, bullying-refusal skills, how to reach out to someone being bullied, and how to report bullying.

    Talking About Touching is a personal safety curriculum that teaches children basic skills to keep them safe from dangerous situations.

    Different & the Same is designed to help staff and students talk about, understand, and prevent prejudice. It is based on four principles of fairness, awareness, inclusion, and respect.

    Dependable Strengths is designed to help students in recognizing, appreciating, and utilizing their strengths. This builds their self-esteem, supports creating new positive experiences, and introduces students to building blocks for possible future careers.

    Why Try? teaches social, emotional, and leadership principles and resiliency.