Washington Comprehensive Assessment of Science (WCAS)

  • What is WCAS?

    The WCAS is an online assessment in science that was administered for the first time in spring 2018. It fulfills the federal requirement (ESSA) that students be tested in science once at each level: elementary, middle, and high school.

    The WCAS measures the level of proficiency that Washington students have achieved based on the Washington State 2013 K-12 Science Learning Standards (previously known as Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS)), which were adopted in October 2013.

    Who takes WCAS?

    Students in grades 5, 8, and 11.

    When is WCAS administered?

    The state of Washington establishes a testing window in the spring. Our district testing schedule is designed to make the best use of student instructional time and use resources efficiently. The daily testing schedule will be posted on the assessment calendar.

    WCAS scores - what to expect 

    Watch this brief video to better understand the early years of WCAS scores and how they might affect students. Transcript